Maynooth University Access Programme Achievement Awards 2016

Prof Philip Nolan, President; Keith Murphy, Alumni Achievement Award winner; Nicole Chatham, Student Achievement Award winner and Rose Ryan, Director of MAP
Thursday, May 19, 2016 - 13:30

Professor Philip Nolan, President of Maynooth University and Rose Ryan, Director of the Maynooth University Access Programme (MAP), presented awards for exceptional achievement to over 150 second level students and 30 teachers in an award ceremony held at Maynooth University on Wednesday, 18 May.
This annual event recognises students who have shown outstanding application, dedication and progress at school, often in the face of challenging circumstances. This ceremony is held in honour of their outstanding and inspirational contributions in education. Maynooth University places a premium on enhancing educational participation and attainment and to this end has developed links with second level schools in Kildare, Offaly, West Dublin and Kilkenny.
The Awards celebrate the accomplishments of 122 amazing young people in 3rd Year and 6th Year from these MAP-linked schools. The schools carefully considered their nominations and have chosen the young people because of the commitment, dedication and perseverance these students have shown to their coursework, their schools and their communities. 30 teachers were also nominated by the 6th year award winners as being a particular inspiration to them.
MAP believes that the Achievement Awards can have a powerful impact at a crucial point in the lives of student participants as well as recognising the important role of teachers in directing students towards third level achievement.
Two inspirational Maynooth University students will receive the 2016 Alumni and Student Achievement Awards. Nicole Chatham, Maynooth University 2nd Year BA Community and Youth Work student and former pupil of St. Mark’s Community School, Tallaght has been selected to receive the Student Achievement Award. Keith Murphy, PhD Candidate in Adult and Community Education, FETAC tutor with National Learning Network and Naas resident will receive the Alumni Achievement Award. Chatham and Murphy have been selected by committee because of their personal and academic achievements, their civic engagement with the university and their local community and their potential to act as a role model to students.
This year we will recognise the outstanding contribution of the Maynooth Students’ Union and St. Paul’s Secondary School, Monasterevin and Oaklands Community College, Edenderry  to College Awareness Week (CAW).   All three winners hosted events to promote the benefits of going to college and were singled out by the College Awareness Week Team as national examples of good practice.
The main objective of this award ceremony is to raise the self-esteem and aspirations of the second level award winners and to highlight that their school sees in them the potential and ability to continue their education. By hosting the ceremony at Maynooth University we hope the young people begin to envision themselves as university students and the ceremony gives them extra encouragement as they approach the Junior Certificate and Leaving Certificate exams.