European Action for Academic Freedom 

Scholars at Risk Europe works to expand, coordinate and support advocacy in Europe to promote academic freedom. Specifically, we aim to:
(1) Inform policymaking in Europe as it relates to academic freedom;
(2) Expand and coordinate advocacy by European actors; and
(3) Increase participation from Central, Eastern and Southern Europe. 

In so doing, we hope to bridge the gaps between the higher education and human rights communities in Europe, increase the impact of advocacy efforts through better coordination across Europe, and increase visibility and knowledge across Europe of the importance of academic freedom to free and open societies.  

A new European Coordinating Committee for Academic Freedom Advocacy is the primary vehicle for strategic cooperation across Europe. The Committee includes a broad set of key actors: representatives from human rights and related NGOs, universities, associations and higher education networks across Europe. The Committee forms the basis for longer-term cooperation on this issue.  

Committee Members:  

Andreas Takis 
Assistant Professor, Faculty of Law 
Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Greece  

Annette Dolan
Vice-Chair Higher Education and Research Standing Committee  
Education International  

Christian Bull  
Program Advisor 
SAIH - Studentenes og Akademikernes Internasjonale Hjelpefond, Norway 

Claire Ivers 
Head of EU Office 
Front Line Defenders 

Claudia Padovani 
Associate Professor in Political Science and International relations 
University of Padova, Italy 

Daniel Silander  
Associate Professor of Political Science   
Linnaeus University (LNU), Sweden 

Dr. Viera Žúborová 
Executive Director 
Bratislava Policy Institute, Slovakia 

Dr. Annie Cottier 
Program Manager for the Mentoring Intercultural Learning through Study Abroad (MILSA) 
University of Bern, Switzerland 

Dr. Dorota Pudzianowska 
Assistant Professor at the Faculty of Law and Administration 
Warsaw University, Poland 

Dr. Gordon Bölling  
Head of Section in the International Department  
German Rectors’ Conference, Germany  

Dr. Katarzyna (Kasia) Kaczmarska 
Lecturer in Politics and International Relations 
University of Edinburgh, UK 

Dr. Liviu Matei 
Provost, Professor of Higher Education Policy 
Central European University, Austria 

Dr. Noelle Higgins  
Associate Professor 
Maynooth University, Ireland (host of SAR Europe) 

Laura Lohéac  
Executive Director  
French National PAUSE programme, France 

Magdalena Kmak 
Professor of Public International Law (migration and minority research)  
University Åbo Akademi University and the ÅAU Institute of Human Rights, Finland 

Martina Darmanin 
Human Rights and Solidarity Coordinator 
European Students Union 

Monika Steinel  
Senior Policy Analyst 
European University Association 

Professor Alessandra Scagliarini 
Department of Experimental, Diagnostic and Specialty Medicine 
University of Bologna, Italy 
Representing Magna Charta Observatory 

Stephen Wordsworth
Executive Director 
CARA (the Council for At-Risk Academics), UK