The Centre aims to publish high quality research in international academic publications and to engage with both government and civil society in a critical examination of issues related to Ireland’s membership of the European Union, Ireland’s relations with Europe, and the European Integration process more generally. Its public role encompasses the staging of public seminars on European issues and engagement with a diverse range of media outlets on important themes such as enlargement, identity, migration and EU foreign and Neighbourhood policy.
The core aims of the Centre are:

  • To carry out and disseminate cutting edge multi-disciplinary research on Central and Eastern Europe and Russia/Eurasia;
  • To provide education and training for those interested in, or working with, the EU;
  •  To engage effectively with the diplomatic community and develop mutually reinforcing links with civil society actors focused on European affairs;
  • To encourage both local and national debate on EU issues. This has become an even more important imperative in recent years as the EU institutions have struggled to explain the benefits for Ireland and other member states of participation in European structures of governance. 

Maynooth University traces its origins to the foundation of the Royal College of St. Patrick in 1795 and has always had significant links with Europe. MCEES is now at the forefront of the university’s engagement with the European Union and the wider European and Eurasian region. The Centre hosts a wide range of academic meetings and public events, from an annual ‘Europe’ lecture to conferences and colloquia and a regular Seminar Series. It maintains close links with academic units at UCD, DCU and a range of European universities, including Charles University (Prague. Czech Republic), Leiden University (Netherlands), Maastricht University (Netherlands), Glasgow University (UK), London School of Economics and Political Science (UK), University of East Anglia (UK), The Central European University (Budapest, Hungary), the American University in Bulgaria (AUBG), the University of Split (Croatia) and the Institute for European Studies (Georgia).