Matthew Birney wins Earnshaw Award 2020

Matthew Birney showing the Earnshaw Medal 2020
Wednesday, December 16, 2020 - 16:00

Matthew Birney won the Earnshaw Award for his project "A Velocity and Density Analysis of Planetary Nebula NGC6853: the Dumbbell Nebula". Matthew Birney was supervised jointly by Dr. Emma Whelan and Prof. Creidhe O'Sullivan. The Earnshaw Award is given each year by the Institute of Physics in Ireland for the best physics final year undergraduate project in Ireland.