German, School of Modern Languages, Literatures and Cultures 

 
Please note:
Most of the emails we receive are requests for information that can very easily be found on our departmental website, on Moodle or in the Students’ Handbook.
Before sending us a query, please check there to see if you can find the answer yourself!
 
If you have a query about First Year, please contact the First Year Coordinator, Dr. Jeff Morrison.
If you have a query about Second Year, please contact the Second Year Coordinators, Dr. Linda Shortt & Ms. Lisa Winter.
If you have a query about the Year Abroad, please contact the Erasmus Coordinator, Dr. Cordula Böcking.
If you have a query about Final Year, please contact the Final Year Coordinator, Dr. Cordula Böcking.
If you have a query about Postgraduate Studies, please contact the Postgraduate Coordinator, Dr. Britta Jung.
 
General queries about German at Maynooth University should be sent to german@mu.ie
 
If you have a query about the time or venue for a class, please check the online University timetable.
If you have a query about the dates/times of university exams, please check with the Exams Office.​

 
If you are sending us an email, please ensure that it contains the following four pieces of information:
 
1.     Your name;
2.     Your student number;
3.     Your question/request expressed in clear and concise terms. If your query concerns a particular module, ensure to provide the module code;
4.     What you have done so far to try to resolve this yourself.
 
Any email that does not contain these four pieces of information will be returned to the sender.
 
Please note also that we will only respond to queries within business hours.
 
 
 

Dr Linda Shortt,  Head of German Studies, Linda.Shortt@mu.ie

Term Consultation Times:      by appointment.
 2nd year coordinators.      

Arts Building, North Campus, Room 31  Tel. +353 -1- 7083717
 
Ms Fiona Cummins, Senior Executive Assistant, german@mu.ie
 
Arts Building, North Campus, Room 36 Tel. +353-1-7083419

German Studies Fax: +353-1-7083740
 

Professor Valerie Heffernan, Head of School, School of Modern Languagesr, Literatures and Cultures,  Valerie.Heffernan@mu.ie

Term Consultation Times:          Wednesday 2.30-3.30   
 

Arts Building, North Campus, Room 30 Tel. +353-1-7083708
Dr Jeffrey Morrison, Senior Lecturer, Jeff.Morrison@mu.ie

Term Consultation Times:   Monday 1.00-2.00       Tuesday 12.00-1.00
 1st year coordinator.

Arts Building, North Campus, Room 52 Tel. 353 1 7083806
Dr Cordula Böcking, Assistant Professor, Cordula.Boecking@mu.ie

Term Consultation Times: Monday 11.00-12.00     Tuesday 11.00-12.00 or by appointment.

 Final year coordinator, International Coordinator, Lead of Research Committee.

Callan Building, North Campus, Room 2.107 Tel. 353 1 4747494
 Dr Britta Jung, Assistant Professor,  Britta.Jung@mu.ie

Term Consultation Times:  Tuesday 10.00-11.00     Wednesday 14.00-15.00
Acting Postgraduate coordinator.
 

Callan Building, North Campus, Room 2.104 Tel. 353 1 4747225
Mag Lisa Winter, Austrian OeAD Lektorin, Lisa.Winter@mu.ie

Term Consultation Times:   Friday 1.00-2.00  or by appointment.
 2nd year coordinators.

Arts Building, North Campus, Room 62 Tel. 353 1 7083809
Ms Sandra Weber,  University German Tutor, Sandra.Weber@mu.ie

Term Consultation Times:    Thursday 11.00-12.00  or by appointment.

Arts Building, North Campus, Room 62 Tel. 353 1 7083809   
Building
Ms Anna Niekchen,  DAAD Sprachassistentin Deutsch, Anna.Niekchen@mu.ie

Term Consultation Times:    Thursday 11.00-12.00  or by appointment.
 

Arts Building, North Campus, Room 62 Tel. 353 1 7083809   
Building
Ms Roos Kreeft, Dutch Tutor, dutch.tutor@mu.ie 

Term Consultation Times:   Thursday   or  by appointment.
 

Education Building, North Campus, Room 3.1.4 Tel. 353 1 4747737
Mr Graham Sullivan, Tutor, Graham.Sullivan@mu.ie

Term Consultation Times:     by appointment.
   

Arts Building, North Campus, Room 54 Tel. 353 1 7086692
 
 Dr Clive Earls, Assistant Professor,  Clive.Earls@mu.ie (on sabbatical leave Sept 2021-August 2022)
 Postgraduate coordinator.

  

 

 
 
 
   
   
  
 
Ms Anne,  DAAD Lektorin,   Arts Building, North Campus, Room 62 Tel. 353 1 7083809
Dr Andreas Boldt, Tutor, Andreas.d.Boldt@mu.ie  Education Building, North Campus, Room 3.1.4 Tel. 353 1 4747737