Athena SWAN in the Department of Mathematics and Statistics

The Department of Mathematics and Statistics prioritizes gender equality among its staff and students. Our commitment to fostering an inclusive environment led us to achieve an Athena SWAN Bronze Award in 2023.

In preparation for this recognition, we established a dedicated Athena SWAN Self-Assessment Team (SAT), composed of a diverse range of academic and administrative staff, along with postgraduate researchers. Over time, the SAT has evolved into the departmental equality, diversity, and inclusion (EDI) committee and has expanded its focus to encompass broader EDI matters.

Our EDI committee plays a pivotal role in identifying, discussing, consolidating information, and addressing issues related to gender inequality and inclusivity within our department. Its primary objective is to ensure that the Athena SWAN Charter principles become ingrained in the department's culture and operations. Committee members include: Niamh Cahill (chair), Gráinne O’ Rourke, Stephen Fagan, Katarina Domijan, Ciarán Mac an Bhaird, David Malone, Darshana Jayakumari (postgraduate rep) and Emma Govan (postgraduate rep).

We are currently in the process of implementing our Athena Swan action plan.

If you would like to contact the EDI committee please email the Maths & Stats EDI chair.